Wk 4 – Art Experience – Graffiti Writing

I had so much fun using spray paint for this week’s Art Experience. I have never used spray paint before so it was an incredibly refreshing and new activity. Light blue and pink are my favorite colors; therefore I grabbed them as soon as I saw them when I visited Lowe’s. White was a nice contrasting addition to the blue and pink.

Originally, my plan was to spell out “Katherine” using the pink spray paint and then outline the letters in blue. However, after more consideration and the inclusion of white, I decided to switch up my initial idea and write out my name with the blue spray paint, outline in white, and then outline again in pink. My goal was to highlight each of the blue letters with the white and then emphasize the writing as a whole with the pink. This is why I did not outline each of the letters with pink. Finally, I wanted to add more texture and detail to the letters so I spray painted small pink diagonal stripes to each letter.

My first name is 9 letters long, which is longer than the average name. This worried me because I was concerned that it would not fit on the material. Luckily, I was able to find a surface long enough to fit my usually long name.

I enjoyed this Art Experience so much! I have seen walls with graffiti writing on them, but never realized how much work the artists actually put in to create their masterpieces. Spray paint can be difficult to control and is a cool and unique type of paint to use. I like it. 🙂 Many people relate graffiti to vandalism and do not truly appreciate how some of the artwork is different, beautiful, and does not have a negative connotation.

Leave a Reply

